Published on June 9th, 2014 | by

Boyle golf news 9/6/14

Last Sunday’s 18 Hole Stableford was won by Michael Gilmartin with 44pts, 2nd Owen Garvin, Gross Lorcan Egan, 3rd John McGuinn. Thursday Mens Competition was won by Michael Rush 27pts, 2nd Pat Brogan 26pts, 3rd Michael Simon 25pts. Fridays Scramble was won by Lorcan Egan, Teresa Ward & Michael Gilmartin, 2nd Jonathan Egan, Michelle Quinn & Michael Reid, 3rd, John McGuinn, Susan Gaffney & Michael Rush. (a Michael in all the winning teams). The results of the Fore Club Alliance from the June Weekend were 1st Ross Andrew 41pts, Gerry Carty 39pts, Gary Carty 39pts. Ladies winner 1st Joey Mullaney, 2nd Regina McLoughlin, 3rd Mary O’Hara.

Competitions for this week are the Mens Competition on Thursday night and Friday is social golf with a nine hole scramble.  Next Sunday is the Bartley Moran Trophy, format 18 Hole Stroke. This will be an open draw to take place on this Thursday evening. Please put names on noticeboard. Date for your diary is the Roscommon Herald Sponsored 18 Hole on June 22nd and Gerry Egan’s Presidents Prize on Sunday June 29th.

In Inter club news good luck to our Mixed Foursomes who play on Wednesday evening and to our Cecil Ewing Team who play Castledargan on Saturday. A practice will take place on this Tuesday evening in Castledargan. Please see noticeboard for details. Commiserations to Gary and Gerry Carty who were beaten in the Daily Mail in Tuam

Thanks to all who took part in the Junior Fore Club Alliance sponsored by the Roscommon Herald Alliance last Saturday. Special thanks to Susan & Brendan for organising and to all who volunteered on the day. Well done to all the prizewinners listed here. (Boyle members unless stated)

Seth Meredith, Jack Murphy (Castlerea), Grainne Rooney, Ciara Rooney, Lorcan Connolly, Garrett Mullen, Odhran Costello (Castlerea), Michael Callaghan (Castlerea), Jack McDonnell (Castlerea), Thomas Sheridan, Sean Brogan, Maeve Brogan, Niamh Brogan, Jack Freeman (Ballaghaderreen), Liam Freeman (Ballaghaderreen), Brian O’Connor, Adam O’Connor, David Farrell (Castlerea), Jack Sheridan, Conor McGee, David McGee

Finally, best wishes to Club member Father Gerry Hanly who celebrates his 40th anniversary of ordination on this Friday with a special mass at 7.30 followed by refreshments in St Joseph’s Hall.



About the Author

Back to Top ↑