Independent Fitzmaurice elected

The people of Roscommon South Leitrim have elected Independent Michael Fitzmaurice as their T.D.

The Galway County Councillor who is also Chairperson of the Turf Cutters and Contractors Association will take up the seat made vacant by the election of Luke Flanagan to the European Parliament.

The contest was a tight one, with Fitzmaurice getting over the line in the last few counts having trailed to Fianna Fail’s Ivan Connaughton for much of the day.

He was elected on the final count (7th) without reaching the quota.

The final results was as follows

Fitzmaurice     14,881 votes.

Connaughton 12,050 votes.


5.30pm……..Fourth Count

Connaughton 7846

Fitzmaurice 7075

Hopkins 6075

Kelly 2144

Kenny 6447

McDermott 3468.

Mc Dermott and Kelly now eliminated



5pm……….Third count

Connaughton 7652

Corcoran 1483

Fitzmaurice 6625

Hopkins 5864

Kelly 2090

Kenny 6283

McDermott 3187.

Emmett Corcoran, Gerry O’Boyle, Des Guckian and Tom Crosby  have all been eliminated.


3.30pm…..The first count has been concluded.

Connaughton 7334

Corcoran 1262

Crosby 1030

Fitzmaurice 6220

Guckian 902

Hopkins 5593

Kelly 2037

Kenny 5906

McDermott 2994

O’Boyle 82

Looks like O’Boyle and Guckian will be eliminated


11.30am……88% of the boxes tallied in Roscommon/South Leitrim Bye-election.

Top four so far are: Connaughton (FF) 6576 (22.4%); Fitzmaurice (IND) 5646 (19.3%); Hopkins (FG) 4915 (16.8%) closely followed by Kenny (SF) on 4906 (16.7%).


10.20am…..The count is on in the Roscommon South Leitrim by election.

There are now 32 boxes tallied and Ivan Connaughton (FF)  is leading the poll.

Connaughton 2854

Fitzmaurice on 2614

Kenny 1565

Hopkins 1496





Back to top button