Around the County

Eugene Murphy wins final Dail seat

The three candidates who will represent Roscommon Galway in the 32nd Dail are Denis Naughten (Independent), Michael Fitzmaurice (Independent) and Eugene Murphy (Fianna Fail).

Denis Naughten was elected on the first count with Michael Fitzmaurice taking the second seat on the 6th count.

A battle ensued into the early morning hours between Maura Hopkins (Fine Gael) and Eugene Murphy (Fianna Fail).

Murphy finally took the final seat with 791 votes to spare.

Election report can be read here

Related Articles

Back to top button