Around the County

Fianna Fail convention on Friday

The Roscommon Galway Fianna Fail selection convention that takes place on Friday night in the Abbey Hotel will only have only one contestants seeking nomination.

Following the withdrawal of Ballintubber’s Sean Og O Higgins, Councillor John Keogh from South Roscommon and Galway Councillor Michael Connolly, it leaves only sitting TD Eugene Murphy in the race.

Councillor Connolly withdrew on Thursday, adhering to the party’s directive to select one candidate.

Roscommon Councillor Orla Leyden previously withdrew from the contest.

The convention, before approximate 600 party members, gets underway in the Abbey Hotel from 6.30pm.


Related Articles

Back to top button