Controversial decision costs Celtic

Roscommon & District Football League Premier Division

Boyle Celtic 2

Kilkerrin United 2

By Ronan Flanagan

Boyle Celtic dropped points for the first time this season as they shared the spoils with Kilkerrin United in a Baltic- like Celtic Park on Saturday night.

The away side scored the opener after just four minutes, some slack Boyle defending was capitalised by Aidan Kitt who fired by Kyle Sweeney.

From this, ‘Celtic searched for an equaliser. The biggest chance of them all fell to Enda Smith who did everything right but cleared the crossbar with his shot.

Boyle’s and Smith’s patience was finally rewarded as the striker rounded the goalkeeper and tucked the ball away.

With five minutes remaining in the half, the ball was headed into the back of the Kilkerrin net from a deep free kick, however, the goal was wrongly ruled out for offside.

Half Time: Boyle Celtic 1, Kilkerrin United 1.

‘Celtic began the second half brightly with the likes of Danny Browne and Daniel Hughes having chances.

However, it was the North- East Galway based side who scored the first goal of the second half as, Aidan Kitt ran through unopposed and put the ball beyond Sweeney in the Boyle goal on the hour mark.

Ten minutes later, it was level again. Seán Purcell ventured forward and found Shane Battles, who got his name on the scoresheet.

Boyle looked to have got a third with a matter of minutes remaining as Smith ran down the right wing, crossed for Mick Corrigan, who looked to score his fifth goal of the season, only for the goal to be ruled out much to the frustration of the home supporters.

Full Time: Boyle Celtic 2, Kilkerrin United 2.

Boyle Celtic: K. Sweeney, D. Carlos, S. Purcell, L. Conboy, J. Bolger, A. Calpin, D. Browne, M. Corrigan, S. Battles, D. Hughes, E. Smith.

With: T. Henry for Calpin (77 mins) and M. O’ Connor for Bolger (90)

Kilkerrin United: E. Martin, P. Gordon, J. Ward, K. Comer, E. Fahy, C. Moran, D. Mahon, C. Halvey, K. Mahon, A. Kitt, B. McDermott.

With: O. Moran for Fahy, S. Collins for Ward (Both 25 mins), T. McDermott for Kitt (86) and K. Traynor for Moran (90)


Related Articles

Back to top button