U11’s win Paul Moylan cup

Boyle Celtic won their first Paul Moylan trophy last Saturday in The Show grounds, Sligo with super performances despite terrible weather conditions.

Boyle Celtic opened the campaign with a comfortable 3-0 win over Valley Rovers and followed up with a 5-1 victory over Coolaney United.

A thrilling 3-3 draw with rivals Gurteen Celtic and a 4-4 draw with Strand Celtic ensured Boyle qualification to the last 8.
In the quarter final Boyle beat Merville Utd 5-0 with a breathtaking display before beating Strand Celtic 6-0 at the second time of asking in the semi final.

In the other semi Benbulben FC advanced to the final winning a nail-biting penalty shoot out. All was set for a great final between these two great sides and the weather had now improved. After a tense opening it was Boyle Celtic who opened the scoring through Danny Carroll. It should have been 2-0 but for the post when Sean Duffy shot from long range. However things got better for Celtic when Carroll added his second goal. 2-0 at half time to Boyle. The Benbulben boys started the second half in business like fashion and were rewarded when they received a penalty when ‘keeper Shane O Dowd was deemed to have infringed inside the box. The resultant penalty was well taken and now the game was on. 2-1 to Boyle with 8 minutes left.
These Boyle players do not believe in losing leads or getting defensive but went all out attack to finish of the game which they duly did. Two goals in two minutes by Duffy and Carty for Boyle Celtic sealed a famous and well deserved victory. 4-1 the final score, a great win against a equally great Benbulben side.

The Boyle Celtic U 11 management would like to thank most sincerely the organisers of the tournament for doing a first class job. Also it was lovely for all the young boys to meet the Sligo Rovers players who came along, chatted and signed autographs.

The heroes for Boyle were Luke Flanagan in goals ( great goalkeeping until he got injured), deputy keeper Shane O Dowd who also starred in defence, Shay Noone, Cathal Mckeon, Dara Casserly, Conan Cregg, Barry Monaghan, Cian Carty, Reece Calpin, Owen Creighton,Sean Duffy, Danny Carroll and Jacob Tighe (scored the goal of the day).

(Pic courtesy Boyle Celtic)

Related Articles

Back to top button