FG selection convention tonight

The Fine Gael selection convention to fill the vacancy on Roscommon Co Co following the election of Maura Hopkins to Seanad Eireann will take place tonight Monday 13th June.

The convention will take place in the Percy French Hotel in Strokestown to fill the Boyle Municipal District council seat.

It will be chaired by Longford Westmeath Fine Gael Deputy Peter Burke.

At this stage there are understood to be five contestants for the position.

Boyle’s Jan Flanagan, Castlerea man Liam Callaghan, Arigna’s Charlie Hopkins, Ann Higgins from Ballaghaderreen and Linda Doorly.

Mary Doyle (nee Keenan) confirmed exclusively to earlier this month that she would not be contesting the convention.

220 Fine Gael members are entitled to vote at the convention.

Related Articles

Back to top button