Boyle Golf news 14/7/14

Open week which finished last Sunday was a great success. At the final presentation Club Captain Padraig O’Connell thanked everyone for their great support. He specially thanked all the sponsors for their generosity and urged members to give them support. He thanked the organising committee for a great week adding that it was great to see so many members and visitors on the course. The groundsman Charlie Beirne was thanked for the great condition of the course with special mention for Michael Rush and all the volunteers. Mary was thanked for her excellent hospitality during the week and Gary Carty, Vincent, Aisling and Charlie were thanked for looking after the bar. Special Presentations were made to Ladies Vice-Captain Sandra McCrann, Michael Rush, Mary McDermott, Charlie Beirne and Jessica Rush.  Results for the week as follows, Mondays Nine Hole 1st Vincent Egan (30), 2nd Jim Suffin (30.5), 3rd Cillian Doyle (31), Visitor Paddy Egan (Oughterard) The ladies nine hole was won by Michelle Quinn, 2nd Moira Egan, 3rd Susan O’Mahoney, Visitor Maureen Sheridan (Ballymote). Tuesday Ladies 18 hole was won by Aisling Gaughran, 2nd Susan O’Mahoney, Gross Liz Dwyer, 3rd Sandra McCrann. Visitor Ogie Moran (Ballaghadereen) The Mens nine hole was won by Lewis Shaw 24pts, 2nd Jim Suffin 22pts, 3rd Cillian Doyle 21pts. Visitor Duirmuid Cannon (Carrick-on-Shannon) Wednesdays Scotch Foursomes was won by Shane O’Dowd & Michelle Quinn 62.5, 2nd Patrick Egan & Claire Cryan 63, 3rd Jonathan Egan and Lizzie O’Sullivan, Visitors Michael & Sheila Kilcoyne. The nine hole was won by Cillian Doyle 22pts, 2nd Leo Kavanagh, 3rd Lorcan Egan, Visitor Niall Sweeney 20pts. Thursday Mens 18 Hole Stroke was won by Brendan Gaffney (63), 2nd Lewis Shaw (64), Gross Gary Carty, 3rd Padraig O’Connell (64). The Ladies Nine Hole was won by Anna Sheerin, 2nd Anita Carty, 3rd Carmel McGarry, Visitor Pauline Lennon (Castledargan) Friday’s results to follow .Saturdays Rumble was won by Liam Whyte, Jonathan Egan & Vincent Egan, 2nd David Wynne, Martin Wynne & Owen Garvin, 3rd Charlie O’Donnell, Michael Gilmartin & Cillian Doyle. Ladies Team Sandra McCrann, Mary O’Hara and Therese O’Daly.  Sundays 18 hole stroke was won by Michael Rush (60), 2nd year on the trot, 2nd Lewis Shaw (61), Gross Patrick Egan, 3rd Cillian Doyle (63), Front Nine Pat Conroy, Back Nine Eamon Perry. Ladies 18 Hole was won by Tish Perry, 2nd year on the trot, 2nd Teresa Ward, Gross Liz Dwyer, 3rd Moira Egan. The raffle hamper was won by Sean Heslin, 2nd prize Tish Perry, 3rd Dave Purser.

There was a great turnout for the Kenny Cup qualifiers on Friday with almost seventy players taking part. It was a great opportunity to show off the course and well done to all who took part

Competitions for this week are the Mens Competition on Thursday, Friday is a nine hole scramble and next Sunday is an 18 Hole Stableford. Dates for your diary are the Classic for Jimmy Doyle on Saturday July 26th, the Captains Scramble and Barbeque on Friday August 1st and the Captains Prize on Sunday August 3rd.

(Photo shows Michael Rush receiving the 18 Hole Trophy from Club Captain Padraig O’Connell)

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button