Local ElectionNews

Local Elections 2014 – Boyle

The local elections are only 3 months away and there are major changes this time around in the Boyle area.

Historically the 26 County Councillors included 4 from Boyle but under new changes introduced by Minister Phil Hogan, the Boyle electoral area will come in under a new structure or municipal district referred to as Boyle but it will include the greater  Ballaghaderreen area.

While the  new “Boyle” municipal district will have 6 County Councillors, the number of Councillors in the County in general will drop from 26 to 18.

So far 11 candidates have indicated that they will stand for Election for the Boyle area in May.

A number of others could be added in the coming weeks.

The 11 are:

Fianna Fail

John Cummins

Rachel Doherty

Aidan Sampey

Eugene Murphy

Fine Gael

Charlie Hopkins

Gerry Garvey

Liam Callaghan


Michael Frain


Tom Crosby

Sinn Fein

Michael Mulligan

Hospital Action Committee

Valerie Byrne

Over the coming weeks you can read the views of the candidates here on the dedicated “Local Election” section on the main navigation bar of Boyletoday.com

Tune in regularly to see what the candidates have to say.


Related Articles

Back to top button